Listing of South Carolina boarding schools - Boarding school directory for the State of South Carolina – therapeutic boarding schools and Christian boarding schools.
  • Ben Lippen School

    Columbia, SC

    Ben Lippen School is a private coed school in Columbia, South Carolina. Columbia is a rural area in Richland County, where you will find…

    793 Students
    57 Teachers

What's Up in South carolina

Standardized tests are only one way to measure student’s academic achievement. However, they have become more important than ever before. This certainly holds true for South Carolina. Therefore, before choosing a boarding school in South Carolina it is important to understand its standardized testing procedures. This way you can compare them with those of other states and make the right decision regarding your child’s ability to be accepted into a boarding school.

The Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) was used in South Carolina’s high schools between the years of 2009 and 2010. It was used to measure academic achievement in such subjects as history, mathematics, and English. It was also used to measure academic achievement in science for students enrolled in grades three through eight.

The other standardized test oftentimes used in South Carolina is The South Carolina High School Assessment Program (HSAP). After the high school students enroll in English/language arts program in ninth grade, they have to take this standardized test. All high school students in South Carolina must take this test in order to obtain a high school diploma.

Another major standardized test is the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP). South Carolina’s high school students have to take this exam upon completion of each course. Currently, it is administered for such subjects as U.S. history, English 1, technologies 2, the Constitution, and physical science.

All three of these tests aim to measure particular skills determined by the state of South Carolina. Each of them has a different set of scoring criteria.

The PASS test is scored based on the level of proficiency demonstrated by a student in each of the subjects. There are only three levels of proficiency for this test: not met, met, and exemplary. Any student at or above “met” level is considered to have met state’s educational standards.

The HSAP test differs from The PASS test in a number of ways. Some of them are the achievement levels and the way it is scored. The students who take this test receive one of the following achievement levels: 1, 2, 3 and 4. Students who manage to obtain a score of 2 or more in each of the subjects pass this standardized test.

The scoring criteria for EOCEP test is completely different from either PASS or HSAP. The high school students who take this test are given a letter grade of A through F.